Refugees with Attitudes

What is the CFA franc ?

In 1945, as a colonial power, France introduced a currency in various African countries that was initially linked to the value of the French franc: the “CFA franc”, “Colonies Francaises d’Afrique” franc.
The CFA has remained the valid currency in most of the countries affected, even after their independence. After France joined the euro zone, France and the other members of the euro zone set a fixed exchange rate to the euro.

Of the 14 countries in which the CFA franc is still a means of payment today, 8 countries belong to the “West African Economic and Monetary Union” (UEMOA):
Benin, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal, Togo

In these countries, the CFA franc bears the name of
Franc de la Communauté Financière d’Afrique

Another 6 countries whose currency is the CFA franc belong to the “Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa” (CEMAC):
Cameroon, Central African Republic, Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Chad

In these countries, the CFA franc bears the name of
Franc de la Coopération Financière en Afrique Centrale

“The fate of the CFA is decided in Paris and Frankfurt. But the priorities of Europe are not those of the African countries” (Demba Moussa Dembele)

How does the colonial system CFA franc work today?

What does the colonial system CFA franc mean for the people and the economy in the affected African states?

What consequences does this have for the 155 million people in the CFA currency area?

CFA must disappear!

For a sovereign African common currency!

Enough’s enough:

African economy for Africa!

That’s enough:

Africa’s money must not be deposited in banks of France!

Africa’s money belongs to Africa!


Hands off Africa’s money!

Away with the CFA!

CFA = means French colonial currency in Africa

     = means Exploitation of Africa by Europe